Dark Illusions by D.D. Miers

Overall: 3.5/5 β­β­β­πŸ’«
Steam: πŸ’‹ only
Feels: 😟😀😫😒

~QD Story Details~
Tear jerker: No
Paranormal/Fantasy: Yes
Location: Viehylan (first and original realm)
Character age range: Early 20s + immortals
Lead: Abby
Love interest(s): Kieron
HEA: No – cliffhanger

~QD Book Info~
Kindle Unlimited: Yes
Audible: No
Series: Yes – Relic Keeper Series
1. Dark Summoner – released May 5, 2015
2. Dark Illusions – released July 12, 2018

~QD πŸ”₯~
Sex/kink type: kissing only
Possible triggers: psychological torture, possible murder

~ReviewπŸ–‹~
I am a fan of truth. Always. So as much as I was a fan of Dark Summoner and as much as I understand the need to work through self doubt for the sake of character growth, this second novel in the series left me feeling a little disappointed. I know the author is setting up for the next portion of the series where the battle of all battles will occur, but I felt like the story stalled a little bit as Abby kept making mistakes but seemingly not learning from them.

I was hoping if this sophomore book was to be sacrificed as the character growth/self discovery one (kind of like the requisite “slow season” in a tv series) that by the end there would be more of an epiphany.

All of this is not to say that I’m not looking forward to the next installment. I am. Particularly because the fate of one of my favorites is in question right now and I absolutely must find out what happens! I just felt like in comparison with how much happened in the first book, this one just didn’t do as good of a job knocking my socks off.

~Blurb~
They say a war brews in the unseen worldβ€”and I’m the only one who can stop it.

Eight weeks ago, a woman sacrificed herself for me. She believed with such certainty I would save this world, she used the last of her powers to protect me. But not everyone shares her conviction. The Council has turned to devious methods to force out my magic, and as nightmarish visions fill my head, I’m no longer sure I can trust myself.

Attacks from the Necros grow bolder every day. To keep me hidden, the fiercely irresistible sorcerer at my side will take me to his underworld, a place no sane person would dare to follow. But the whispers stalk me everywhere . . . hunting me, wanting me. And the more I run, the more I realize safety may be just another dark illusion.

Dark Illusions, the second book in D.D. Miers’ Relic Keeper Series, is a new, edgy, urban fantasy sizzling with tension. Readers who like The Twenty-Sided Sorceress, The Elemental Series, and The Baine Chronicles will fall in love with Miers’ paranormal universe and those fighting to defend it.

~Link~
Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/y82gys5n
Amazon: https://tinyurl.com/y9rtv43c

~Author Info~
D.D. Miers

Website: http://www.authorddmiers.com
Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/y9v83htz
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/authorddmiers
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorddmiers
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/D.D.Miers