Changed by Fire (Phoenix Rising Book 6) by Quinn Arthurs and Harper Wylde

Overall: 4/5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Steam: 4/5 🔥🔥🔥🔥
Feels: 😣😢😏💪🗣😲

Genre: Fantasy, PNR, Fantasy, Reverse Harem
Location: Alaska
MC age range: mid-20s
Lead:Nix (Phoenix shifter)
Love interest(s): RH – Killian (Puca aka Bunny shifter), Theo (Kraken shifter), Ryder (Ceraptor aka Unicorn shifter), Hiro (Kitsune aka fox w/ 9 tails shifter), Damien (Gargoyle shifter), Joshua (Basilisk shifter)
Tear jerker: No
HEA: Cliffhanger

Kindle Unlimited: Yes
Paperback page count: 475 pages
Publisher: Self published
Audible: No
Series: The Phoenix Rising Series
1. Born of Embers — released 01/31/18 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
2. Hidden in Smoke — released 03/31/18 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
3. Spark of Intent — released 08/28/18 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫
4. Forged in Flames — released 05/30/19 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫
5. Blaze of Wrath — released 08/15/19 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
6. Changed by Fire — released 07/16/20 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
7. Beauty in Ashes — releasing 09/24/20

~QD 🔥~
Sex/kink type: oral, manual, penetrative
Possible triggers: violence, gore, PTSD, torture

The Quick and Dirty: Joshua is undercover with the Council while Nix and the rest of her men train for the war against the Council. The group loses someone very close to them and a massive truth bomb is dropped on Nix that could change everything.

I loved reconnecting with Nix and the guys and seeing how their relationship had grown. And um, that scene together? 🔥🔥🔥🔥  I also really enjoyed that we got to delve into some of the ancillary characters like Ciaran, Rini and Molly. My one critique was that the part at which they decide to share with each other felt long and like a therapy session; almost like a means by which to tell the reader these long held secrets without having to show it organically. Otherwise, it was a fun read and I can’t wait to see how the finale turns out especially after that final bomb was dropped at the end! 😱

Death. War. Pain. Hope.

I’d thought running from the Council would keep my family safe. Instead, it has exposed new dangers—undercurrents I never knew existed.

With Joshua left behind enemy lines and threats emerging from all sides, I have to do all I can to protect my mates and bring my newfound family together again.

As Damien, Theo, Ryder, Hiro, Killian, and I work to find our place among the rebellion and face the Council, I can’t escape the feeling that something else is coming for us in the dark, Alaskan winter.

Secrets and conflicting beliefs may just crumble what we’ve worked so hard to build, but I won’t lose a war that hasn’t even started yet. Especially not before I’ve been able to claim the six men that were always meant to be mine.

But fate is a fickle beast, serving up more than any one person should have to handle.

In the end, will we be broken by the new lives we are trying to create, or will we be Changed by Fire?

*Warning this book contains scenes and references of abuse that some readers may find triggering. This book also contains some m/m themes.*

Harper Wylde is an emerging author who lives in the countryside of Pennsylvania. As a wife and a mother of two young children, she spends her days chasing after little people and making crazy notes about story ideas all over her home. As a serial entrepreneur, Harper also dabbles in photography and graphic design…but has found that her favorite occupation is the one she’s doing now–writing fantasy and paranormal romance. She loves coffee, cooking, chocolate covered pretzels, and characters with hidden strength and endearing flaws!


Quinn lives in temperamental Ohio. She is a book devotee, a caffeine addict, an absolute klutz, and a worn out mom. She tries desperately to squeeze out the crazy stories that are always playing in her head between constant emergencies at work and home. At least her kids are always a willing audience for her insane ramblings while they’re still little! Stalk her on Facebook at Quinn Arthurs; Arthurs’ Assembly; and Phoenix Rising: Nix’s Harem.