ARC REVIEW: Don’t Look Behind You by Emily Kazmierski

Overall: 4/5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Steam: 💋 only
Feels: 🤔🤫🙃😓😖😲

~QD STORY DETAILS~
Shelves: YA thriller/mystery
Location: Near Santa Cruz, California
MC age range: Teen
Lead: Megan
Love interest(s):🤫
POV: 1st person
Tear jerker: No
HEA: No, mild cliffhanger

~QD BOOK INFO~
Kindle Unlimited: Yes
Paperback page count: 315
Publisher: Self published
Audible: No
Series: Yes – Don’t Look Series
1. Don’t Look Behind You – released 05/10/2021

~QD 🔥~
Sex/kink type: N/A – kissing only
Possible triggers: violence, harassment, PTSD, kidnapping, graphic mention of homicide

~REVIEW🖋~
The Quick and Dirty:  Girl moves to a new town and tries to start a new life to escape her parents’ murderer, except everything is indicating that he may have found her.

I was hooked from the first chapter! Emily Kazmierski did a great job setting the reader up to feel all the angst of the storyline and while I did guess a few aspects of the story before they were revealed, the twists and turns along the way kept things interesting. Psych thrillers aren’t my normal genre and I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed reading the book.

I did have a few small qualms with the story. The first that I found there to be a few parts at which I questioned the plot and felt there were a few holes. I also questioned the MC’s actions several times because they felt more like plot devices than genuine responses but then again, she’s a teen so…  The biggest issue I had was the feel of the ending. The author does a fantastic job building up the tension and the angst so I think I was expecting an explosive ending. I felt the pace and transitions of the book were really good, and I didn’t see the twist at the end coming but it was the delivery — I felt like that entire section needed a little more; more time to breathe and a little more oomph because the tension throughout the book was so high. Overall a good read and I’m excited to see what happens next; I’m just hoping the ending of the next book is explosive as opposed to just a sizzle. 

**I was graciously offered an ARC in exchange for an honest and voluntary review.**

~BLURB~

The truth is a deadly blade that cuts deep. 

Megan Pritchard aches to find safety and security when she starts fresh in a new town. Yet the habits of a chilling past are hard to break. 

Keep her head down.

Never tell them who she is.

When someone asks about her scar… lie.

For a brief flicker of time, she thought she was safe. That she could find ways to fit into that small town with secrets of its own. Then… the prickle down her spine returns. 

Someone is watching and waiting—just like before. But this time they won’t settle for shallow cuts. Knives, and secrets, will be buried deep. 

Don’t Look Behind You is a dark psychological thriller that will leave you guessing until the very end. Fans of Karen McManus, Chelsea Ichaso, or Natasha Preston are sure to love Emily Kazmierski’s chilling masterpiece!

~LINKS~

GOODREADS
AMAZON

**images featured are not mine; credit belongs to the owners**

~AUTHOR INFO~
Emily lives in sunny Southern California with her husband and two daughters. When she’s not in her book dragon form devouring books, she can be found in the kitchen making homemade ice cream or baking something delicious. In addition to reading and writing, Emily loves watching police procedurals, playing with makeup, and cuddling with her two long-haired dachshunds Nestlé and Kiefer.

AMAZON  | GOODREADS| INSTAGRAM 

~CONNECT WITH ME ON SOCIAL MEDIA~